Peer to Peer Magazine

December 2012

The quarterly publication of the International Legal Technology Association

Issue link: http://epubs.iltanet.org/i/96072

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 111

from the director L ike many before and after me, I dreamed of becoming a legal eagle — the defender of the defenseless, the righter of wrongs, the pursuer of the greater good. The ink was barely dry on my application to law school when it occurred to me that working in a law firm as a silent observer might be a really smart idea. It might move me away from the Perry Masonesque stereotype and give me a real sense of the work of a lawyer. It did that and more. I quickly became addicted to life as a professional supporting those who practice law. Long nights in the server room in preparation for the latest upgrade seemed more fulfilling than long nights in a war room in preparation for trial. I'm thankful for my education about the business of law, acquired primarily by watching, listening and really taking an interest. I can't help but wonder how much easier my path would have been with more formal training. With great excitement, we close another productive year by introducing Law Firm 101 — education about the business of law; education delivered to support professionals, to newly hired attorneys and to law students. That education starts in these pages, and I've never seen an issue of our magazine that is more designed to "hand to a colleague" than this one. You might know every nuance of the subject matter described herein, but I'm certain there are dozens of people at your firm or in your law department who don't. Give them a healthy dose of ILTA education — it's truly the gift that keeps on giving. As we say goodbye to 2012, here's wishing you a healthy, prosperous year ahead. Tell a friend about ILTA and about Law Firm 101! ILTA STAFF Publications Randi Mayes Editor-In-Chief randi@iltanet.org Kristy Cole Communications Specialist kristy@iltanet.org Kendall Lazorchak Creative Design Specialist kendall@iltanet.org Julia Schwarz Graphic Designer julia@iltanet.org Programming and Vendor Relations Peggy Wechsler Program Director peggy@iltanet.org Deb Himsel Program Manager Core Education deb@iltanet.org TJ Johnson Program Manager Conferences tj@iltanet.org Gaynor Senyszyn Conference Coordinator gaynor@iltanet.org Administrative Randi Mayes Executive Director randi@iltanet.org Kristy Costello Peer Group Coordinator kristina@iltanet.org Cristin Gaffney Accounting Administrator cristin@iltanet.org Judy Couvillion Regional Coordinator judy@iltanet.org Grace Palma Concierge - Member Services Administrator grace@iltanet.org Gail Persichilli Programming Coordinator gail@iltanet.org Ken Hansen Vendor Coordinator ken@iltanet.org IT and Online Services Clay Gibney IT Director clay@iltanet.org Eva Leos Administrative Assistant eva@iltanet.org Jeanne Martinez Online Services Administrator jeanne@iltanet.org Randi Mayes Executive Director Philip Graybeal Senior Systems Analyst philip@iltanet.org Peer to Peer 9

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Peer to Peer Magazine - December 2012